Skip directly to content

Tokarev

 

PAUL MAGUIRE (Nicolas Cage) is by all accounts, a decent man. A contractor by trade, he is a pillar of his community, and a family man. His wife VANESSA (Rachel Nichols) and his daughter CAITLIN (Aubrey Peeples) adore him. But it wasn't always this way. Paul is actually a reformed criminal who still keeps in touch with his old associates, especially KANE (Max Ryan) and DOHERTY (Michael McGrady). 

One night Paul and Vanessa go out to dinner with some friends, leaving Caitlin at home with her friends Mike (Max Fowler) and Evan (Jack Falahee). In the middle of their dinner, DETECTIVE ST. JOHN (Danny Glover) enters the restaurant and tells him that something has happened to Caitlin.

Evan and Nick tell the police and Paul that they were watching TV with Caitlin, when several Russian men barged in and took her. They fought – but the Russians overtook Mike and Evan. Eventually, Caitlin turns up dead, and Paul's world collapses all around him. Several years earlier, before Caitlin was born, Paul and his buddies robbed a Russian gangster and stole millions of dollars. Paul used the money to go legit and believed they had gotten away with the robbery -- until now. Convinced the kidnapping is long-overdue retaliation for the crimes of his youth, Paul ignores the police and mounts his own investigation, against the wishes of his old crime boss FRANK O'CONNELL (Peter Stormare)

Paul and his buddies shake down and rough up anyone they can find who might be connected to CHERNOV (Pasha D. Lychnikoff), the legendary mob boss whose money they stole seventeen years earlier. O'Connell pleads with Paul to stop his rampage, but he refuses. Vanessa, who initially backed her husband's search, now fears he's becoming the killer he once was. But there exists another possibility: perhaps he has always been a violent man and can never truly leave that life behind. 

“Tokarev” is an exciting and action-packed revenge thriller with unpredictable twists & turns, featuring a conflicted, flawed hero with baggage he may never live down. In the tradition of “Taken” and “Man on Fire,” “Tokarev” is a deeply satisfying story of a man’s journey to the realization that he can never truly outlive his past sins. 

Production Details

PRODUCERS:

Richard Rionda Del Castro, Michael Mendelsohn

EXECUTIVE PRODUCERS:

Patricia Eberle, Jim Agnew, Sean Keller,  Hayley Magouirk, Cam Cannon, Bill Bromiley, Mark Ward, Martin Barab, Mike Nilon, Frederico Lapenda, Luis de Val

WRITERS:

Jim Agnew & Sean Keller

DIRECTOR:

Paco Cabezas

LOCATION:

Mobile, Alabama

CAST:

Nicolas Cage as "Paul Maguire"

Danny Glover as "Detective St. John"

Rachel Nichols as "Vanessa Maguire"

Max Ryan as "Kane"

Michael McGrady as "Doherty"

Peter Stormare as "O'Connell"

Pasha D. Lychnikoff  as "Chernov"

Aubrey Peeples as "Caitlin Maguire"

Patrice Cols as "Anton"

Max Fowler as "Mike"

Jack Falahee as "Evan"

 

START DATE:

June 2013

DELIVERY DATE:

January 2014